Advancing excellence in laboratory medicine for better healthcare worldwide

Education in the Use of Biomarkers in Diabetes (C-EUBD)


Name Position Country Term Time in Office
E. English Chair UK 1st 2021 04 - 2023 12
E. Van der Hagen Member NL 1st  2022 01 - 2024 12
A. Sato Member JP 2nd 2022 01 - 2024 12
J. Skrha Member CZ 1st 2022 01 - 2024 12
E. Kilpatrick Member UK 1st 2022 05 -2024 12
D. Sacks Consultant US    
E.Lenters-Westra  Consultant  NL    
C. Siebelder Consultant NL    

Terms of reference

  1. To maintain and further develop the network of reference laboratories for the measurement of HbA1c (through collaboration with C-TLM)
  2. To work in partnership with WHO and IDF to continue to promote the reporting of HbA1c in line with the consensus statement
  3. To work in partnership with WHO and IDF to facilitate the development and implementation of international guidelines for the use of HbA1c in the diagnosis of diabetes
  4. To work with IFCC Corporate Members to develop a consensus position on the information to be included in the Instructions for Use (IFU) as it relates to the clinical use of HbA1c methods
  5. Develop quality targets for the measurement of HbA1c and other biomarkers, and on the basis of these targets, and in conjunction with professional bodies, advise on the use of biomarkers for monitoring, diagnosis and screening of diabetes and glucose intolerance.
  6. To work with WHO and TF-POCT to recommend best practice in the use of POCT methods for the measurement of HbA1c
  7. To evaluate the clinical value of emerging biomarkers (e.g. glycated albumin) for the management of patients with diabetes and to establish whether there is a case for method harmonisation of effective new biomarkers
  8. To evaluate the emerging importance of post translational modification derived products (PTMDPs), and especially Advanced Glycation End-Products (AGEs), and work with Professional bodies on the best way of developing these for use in diabetes.
  9. To monitor the literature and advise on best practice in relation to laboratory aspects of diabetes.

List of Corresponding Members, nominated by National Societies

Name IFCC Member Society
D. Aslan Turkish Biochemical Society (TBS)
W. Cheneke Gebisa Ethiopian Medical Laboratory Association (EMLA)
E. Schleicher Deutche Gesellschaft fur Klinische Chemie und Laboratoriumsmedizin e.V. (DGKL)
A. Mosca Italian Society of Clinical Chemistry and Clinical Molecular Biology (SIBioC)
Iiris Salonen Finnish Society of Clinical Chemistry (SKKY)
A. Coj Lithuanian Society of Laboratory Medicine
E.Rojano-Rodriguez Mexican Association of Clinical Laboratory Sciences (CMCLabC)
R. Kumar Dubey Nepalese Association for Clinical Chemistry (NACC)
B. Kumar Yadav Nepalese Association for Laboratory Science (NAMLS)
B. Okesina Association of Clinical Chemists Nigeria (ACCN)
R. Nanda Association of Medical Biochemists of India (AMBI)
M. Banerjee Association of Clinical Biochemists of India (ACBI)
P. Gillery Société Francaise de Biologie Clinique (SFBC)
L. Figueroa Montes Associacion Medica Peruana de Patologia Clinica (AMPPC)


List of Corresponding Members, nominated by Corporate Members

Name Company
S. Baraldi A. Menarini Diagnostics
M. Berman Abbott
P. Campbell LumiraDx
H. Boe Sebia
R. Molinaro Siemens Healthcare
A. Eriksson Radiometer (HemoCue)

Committee Chair's contact


Prof. Emma ENGLISH

Associate Professor
School of Health Sciences,
University of East Anglia
Norwick Research Park,
Norwich, Norfolk



Website developed by Insoft