Advancing excellence in laboratory medicine for better healthcare worldwide

EB bios Edward (Ted) Dunn

Dr Edward (Ted) DUNN, Regional Federation Representative -  NAFCC 

Dr. Edward (Ted) Dunn
Clinical Development & Quality Assurance
Ontario L6T 5M3 – Canada


Dr. Edward (Ted) Dunn is National Director of Product and Service Development at Dynacare, one of Canada’s largest private Clinical Laboratories. Dr Dunn’s group is primarily responsible for evaluating new technologies and method development and validation of new test methods using Liquid Chromatography/Tandem Mass Spectrometry (LC/MS/MS). Dr. Dunn also initiated the point-of-care testing (POCT) program for INR in remote regions, which resulted in a US Patent for wireless transmission of encrypted data. He and his group also investigated several COVID-19 POC instruments during the pandemic, implementing POCT Covid PCR testing in a variety of locations.
Dr. Dunn holds an Hon. BSc in Biochemistry, a MSc (Eng) in Biochemical Engineering, and a PhD in Physical Organic Chemistry. After a fellowship and employment with the Department of National Defence, he was accepted into the Clinical Chemistry Training Program at McMaster University in Hamilton. After certification as a Clinical Chemist, he was responsible for the Regional Toxicology Program in Hamilton and then moved on to become Clinical Laboratory Director for the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH) and Director of the Psychopharmacology Research Lab. Ted joined Dynacare in 2005 as Director of Toxicology and then became Director Research and Development, which evolved into his current position. Over his 30+ year career, his interests have been in Analytical Toxicology, Clinical Toxicology, Therapeutic Drug Monitoring and LC/MS analysis of small molecules (drugs, hormones, etc.) in biological matrices such as urine, serum, plasma, whole blood, oral fluid, and hair.
Professionally, Dr. Dunn has served as Secretary to the Canadian Society of Clinical Chemists (CSCC) from 2009-2012, and as President-Elect, President, and Past President of the CSCC from 2017-2023. He is a Member of the Canadian Standards Association (CSA) technical committee TCZ252 - Medical Laboratory Quality Systems and was chair of the CSA task force to create Canadian Standard for Laboratory Developed Tests. He is also a member of ISO/TC 212 mirror committee - Clinical laboratory testing and in vitro diagnostic test systems.

Website developed by Insoft