Advancing excellence in laboratory medicine for better healthcare worldwide

Task Force on Global Lab Quality (TF-GLQ)

Task Force GLQ members during their meeting at General Conference 2022 in Brussels. A. Haliassos as the IFCC Treasurer participated in the meeting.

L-R : E. Amann, Co-Chair; A. Haliassos EB Treasurer; S. Cardinale, IFCC Office; Q.Meng, Co-Chair; A. Perret-Liaudet, Member; JM. Giannoli, Member; A. Vassault, Member; K. Cendejas, Corp.Rep. Bio-Rad; J. Lin, Corp.Rep. Abbott; S. Wheeler, Member; R. Bais, Member; P.Dabla, Member



Name Position Country Term Time in Office
E. Amann Co-Chair DE 1st 2021 01 - 2023 12
Q. Meng Co-Chair US 1st  2021 01 - 2023 12
I. Blasutig Member & Secretary CA 1st 2021 01 - 2023 12
R. Bais Member AU 1st 2021 01 - 2023 12
JM. Giannoli Member FR 1st 2021 01 - 2023 12 
P. Kumar Dabla Member IN 1st 2021 01 - 2023 12
E. Lianidou Member GR 1st 2021 01 - 2023 12
A. Perret-Liaudet Member FR 1st 2021 01 - 2023 12
A. Thomas Member UK 1st 2021 01 - 2023 12
A. Vassault Member FR 1st 2021 01 - 2023 12
S. Wheeler Member US 1st 2021 01 - 2023 12
K. A. Cendejas Corp. Rep./Bio-Rad US 1st 2021 01 - 2023 12
J. Lin  Corp. Rep./Abbott US 1st 2021 01 - 2023 12




Scope & Mandate

iQC Program:
•   Identify vendors capable of providing quality control materials and associated software for on-going monitoring.
•   Develop training program for participating laboratories.
•   Form scientific support teams to train and support staff on-site at participating laboratories.
•  Plan for maintenance and monitoring of the iQC program by the IFCC.

EQA Program:
•   Through a call for applications to participate, select countries for the pilot program, and in collaboration with the respective member societies, select candidate participating laboratories within each country. A formal call for participation by developing countries will be issued soon by the IFCC office.
•   Through on-site visits, evaluate the preparedness of the participating laboratories for subscription to the EQA program and identify gaps that must be addressed.
•   Retain a vendor through an open bidding process to provide the EQA material and software for the EQA program.
•   Develop detailed written guidelines for the participating laboratories.
•   Dispatch scientific support teams to help initiate the EQA program at the participating labs. Expert teams will be formed by the taskforce from IFCC membership and will include both senior and young scientists.
•   Plan for maintenance and monitoring of the EQA’s progress by the IFCC.
•   Develop a plan for expansion of the EQA program in respect of geographical scope and included laboratory tests.



List of Corresponding Members, nominated by National Societies

Name Full and Affiliate Member Societies
A. Guimarães  Sociedade Brasileira de Analíses Clínicas (SBAC)
J. Pelanti Finnish Society of Clinical Chemistry (SKKY)
N. Bakuradze Laboratory Medicine Association of Georgia (GLMA)
A. Bardoloi Association of Medical Biochemists of India (AMBI)
L. Setiawan Indonesian Association for Clinical Chemistry (HKKI)
A. Carobene Italian Society of Clinical Chemistry and Clinical Molecular Biology (SIBioC)
E. Miranda González Mexican Association of Clinical Laboratory Sciences
L. Shresta Nepalese Association for Clinical Chemistry (NACC)
M. A. Serdar Turkish Biochemical Society (TBS)


Chairs' contacts

Prof. Dr. Egon Amann
University of Applied Sciences
Hochschule Hamm-Lippstadt
Marker Allee 76-78
59063 Hamm DE

Dr. Qing Meng
Clinical Chemistry
and Special Chemistry Laboratories
Department of Laboratory Medicine
The University of Texas
MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, TX, USA

Website developed by Insoft