Chapter 12 IFCC Awards

12.1. Awards Committee

| Members | | | | |
|---------------|----------|---------|-----------------|-------------------|
| Name | Position | Country | Term | Time in Office |
| M. Ferrari | Chair | IT | 2 nd | 2021 03 - 2023 12 |
| A. Gronowski | Member | US | 2 nd | 2021 05 - 2023 12 |
| C. Haddad | Member | LB | 2 nd | 2021 05 - 2023 12 |
| E. Hoyaranda | Member | ID | 2 nd | 2021 05 - 2023 12 |
| T. Pillay | Member | ZA | 2 nd | 2021 05 - 2023 12 |
| G. Russomando | Member | PY | 2 nd | 2021 05 - 2023 12 |
| T. Zima | Member | CZ | 2 nd | 2021 05 - 2023 12 |

The members of the IFCC Awards Committee are not eligible for the awards during their tenure of office.

IFCC Awards and Recipients

12.1.1. IFCC Distinguished Clinical Chemist Award (1969 – 2017) IFCC-Howard Morris Distinguished Clinical Chemist Award (since 2020)

This award recognises an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the science of Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine, or the application of Clinical Chemistry to the understanding or solution of medical problems.

```
1969 D.D. Van Slyke (US)
1972 C.P. Stewart (UK)
1975 L. Eldjarn (NO)
1978 C.B. Laurell (SE)
1981 P. Metais (FR)
1984 P. Astrup (DK)
1987 H.U. Bergmeyer (DE)
1990 N.G. Anderson (US)
1993 R. Ekins (UK)
1996 M. Wilchek (IL)
1999 D.W. Moss (UK)
2002 C.N. Hales (UK)
2005 G.M. Siest (FR)
2008 D.S. Young (US)
2011 U.H.E. Stenman (FI)
2014 M.J. McQueen (CA)
2017 D.Y.M. Lo (HK)
2020 N. Rifai (US)
```

12.1.2. IFCC Distinguished International Services Award (1981-1987) IFCC-Wishinsky Award for Distinguished International Service (since 1990)

This award honours an individual who has made unique contributions to the promotion and understanding of Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine throughout the world.

| 1981 | M. Rubin (US) |
|------|---------------------|
| 1984 | P. Lous (DK) |
| 1987 | T.P. Whitehead (UK) |

```
1990
        M.L. Castillo de Sanchez (MX)
1993
        R. Dybkaer (DK)
1996
        N. Tietz (US)
1999
        M. Shaarawy (EG)
2002
        O. Zinder (IL)
2005
        J.H. Ladenson (US)
2008
        D. Burnett (UK)
2011
        C.A. Burtis (US)
2014
        R. Dufour (US)
2017
        J. Hicks
2020
        G. Shannan (SY)
```

12.1.3. IFCC Award for Distinguished Contributions in Education

This award honours an individual who has made extraordinary contributions in establishing and developing educational materials for our discipline to improve training and educational programmes worldwide or in a region.

```
1999
        L. Thomas (DE)
2002
        J.B. Henry (US)
2005
        W.J. Marshall (UK)
2008
        N. Tietz (US)
2011
        M.F. Burritt (US)
2014
        C.A. Burtis (US)
2017
        N. Rifai (US)
2020
        T. Annesley (US)
```

12.1.4. IFCC-Abbott Award for Significant Contributions in Molecular Diagnostics

This award honours an individual who has made unique contributions to the promotion and understanding of molecular biology and its application in Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine worldwide.

```
2002
        L. Peltonen (FI)
2003
        R.M. Bertina (NL), P.H. Reitsma (NL)
        M. Ferrari (IT)
2004
2005
        C.T. Wittwer (US)
2006
        Y.M.D. Lo (HK)
2007
        U. Landegren (SE)
2008
        O. Kallioniemi (FI)
2009
        E. Diamandis (CA)
2010
        G. Tsongalis (US)
2011
        M. Neumaier (DE)
2014
        F. Barany (US)
2017
        S. Branford (AU)
2020
        A. Ferreira-Gonzalez (US)
```

12.1.5. IFCC Distinguished Award for Laboratory Medicine and Patient Care

This award honours an individual who has made unique contributions in Laboratory Medicine, its application in improving patient care, and having a worldwide impact in clinical medicine.

```
    2008 C.W.K. Lam (HK)
    2011 R. A. Wanders (NL)
    2014 M. Plebani (IT)
    2017 E. Diamandis (CA)
    2020 D. Sacks (US)
```

12.1.6. IFCC-Robert Schaffer Award for Outstanding Achievements in the Development of Standards for Use in Laboratory Medicine

This award honours an individual who has made outstanding and unique contributions to the advancement of reference methods and/or reference materials for Laboratory Medicine to facilitate improved quality of clinical diagnostics and therapies, which would in turn lead to reduced costs and improved patient care.

```
    2008 L. Siekmann (DE)
    2011 L. Thienpont (BE)
    2014 W.G. Miller (US)
    2017 M.M. Muller (AT)
    2020 G. Myers (US)
```

12.1.7 IFCC Young Investigator Award

This award recognises and encourages the academic and professional development of a young investigator (under 40 years of age) who has demonstrated exceptional scientific achievements in Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine early in his/ her career.

```
    2011 R.W.K. Chiu (HK)
    2014 G. Baird (US)
    2017 R. Shrestha (NP)
    2020 L.S. Eberlin (US)
```

12.1.8 IFCC HyTest Distinguished Award for Contributions to Cardiovascular Diagnostics

This award honours an individual who has undertaken remarkable scientific work with cardiac markers or immunodiagnostic applications to improve cardiac disease diagnosis. It has been presented for the first time on occasion of the WorldLab Congress held in Durban in 2017.

```
2017 J.H. Ladenson (US)2020 F. Apple (US)
```

12.1.9 IFCC-Gérard Siest Young Scientist Award for Distinguished Contributions in Pharmacogenetics

This award recognizes an outstanding young investigator or young leader (under 40 years of age) for his/her contribution to advancing the scientific discipline of pharmacogenomics and Personalized/Precision Medicine and/or its impact on research, development, standardization, quality management, regulatory evaluation or utilization in therapy. This award has been presented for the first time in 2020.

```
2020 J.B. Woillard (FR)
```

12.1.10 IFCC Distinguished Women Scientist Award for Contribution to In-Vitro Diagnostics

This award recognizes a woman who has made significant contributions to the development or utilization of In Vitro Diagnostics with emphasis on applications in primary healthcare. This award has been presented for the first time in 2020.

2020 S. Quijano (CO)

List of addresses

Chair

Prof. Maurizio FERRARI

Clinical Pathology University Vita-Salute San Raffaele Clinical Molecular Biology and Cytogenetics Laboratory Unit Genomics for Diagnosis of Human Pathologies IRCCS San Raffaele - Milan (IT) E-mail: president@ifcc.org

Members

Prof. Ann GRONOWSKI

Department of Pathology & Immunology Washington University School of Medicine 660 South Euclid Avenue, Box 8118 St. Louis, Missouri 63110 (US) E-mail: gronowski@wustl.edu

Prof. Tahir PILLAY

Department of Chemical Pathology University of Pretoria Pretoria 4001 (ZA) E-mail: tspillay@gmail.com

Prof. Graciela RUSSOMANDO

Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics IICS - UNA San Lorenzo (PY) E-mail: grusso@rieder.net.py

Dr. Christian HADDAD

Laboratory University Hospital Center Notre Dame des Secours Street 03 St. Charbel Hboub, Byblos (LB) E-mail: christianHNDS@hotmail.com

Prof. Endang HOYARANDA

PT. Prodia Widyahusada Prodia Tower - Jl. Kramat Raya No. 150, Jakarta 10430 (ID) E-mail: endang.hoyaranda@prodia.co.id

Prof. Tomáš ZIMA

Institute of Clinical Biochemistry and Laboratory Medicine 1st Medical Faculty and General Teaching Hospital Charles University U Nemocnice 2, 12108 Prague2, (CZ) E-mail: zimatom@cesnet.cz