IFCC AWARDS 2017



AWARDS

► IFCC DISTINGUISHED CLINICAL CHEMIST AWARD - Sponsored by IFCC

This award recognizes an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the science of Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine, or the application of Clinical Chemistry to the understanding or solution of medical problems.

1969 DD Van Slyke (US) 1981 P Metais (FR) 1993 R Ekins (UK) 2005 GM Siest (FR) 1996 M Wilchek (IL) 1972 CP Stewart (UK) 1984 P Astrup (DK) 2008 DS Young (US) 1975 L Eldjarn (NO) 1987 HU Bergmeyer (DE) 1999 DW Moss (UK) 2011 UH Stenman (FI) 1978 CB Laurell (SE) 1990 NG Anderson (US) 2002 CN Hales (UK) 2014 MJ McQueen (CA)

► IFCC-WISHINSKY AWARD FOR DISTINGUISHED INTERNATIONAL SERVICE (Since 1990)

IFCC DISTINGUISHED INTERNATIONAL SERVICES AWARD (1981-1987) - sponsored by Siemens Healthcare Diagnostics

This award honours an individual who has made unique contributions to the promotion and understanding of Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine throughout the world.

 1981 M. Rubin (US)
 1990 ML Castillo de Sanchez (MX)
 1999 M. Shaarawy (EG)
 2008 D. Burnett (UK)

 1984 P. Lous (DK)
 1993 R. Dybkaer (DK)
 2002 O. Zinder (IL)
 2011 C. Burtis (US)

 1987 TP Whitehead (UK)
 1996 N. Tietz (US)
 2005 JH Ladenson (US)
 2014 R. Dufour (US)

▶ IFCC AWARD FOR DISTINGUISHED CONTRIBUTIONS IN EDUCATION – sponsored by Abbott Laboratories

This award honours an individual who has made extraordinary contributions in establishing and developing educational materials for our discipline to improve training and educational programs world-wide or in a region.

 1999 L. Thomas (DE)
 2008 N. Tietz (US)

 2002 JB Henry (US)
 2011 M. Burritt (US)

 2005 WJ Marshall (UK)
 2014 C. Burtis (US)

▶ IFCC-Abbott AWARD FOR SIGNIFICANT CONTRIBUTIONS IN MOLECULAR DIAGNOSTICS – sponsored by Abbott Molecular

This award honours an individual who has made unique contributions to the promotion and understanding of molecular biology and its application in Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine worldwide.

 2002 L. Peltonen (FI)
 2004 M. Ferrari (IT)
 2007 U. Landegren (SE)
 2010 G. Tsongalis (US)

 2003 RM Bertina (NL)
 2005 CT. Wittwer (US)
 2008 O. Kallioniemi (FI)
 2011 M. Neumaier (DE)

 PH Reitsma (NL)
 2006 YMD Lo (HK)
 2009 E. Diamandis (CA)
 2014 F. Barany (US)

► IFCC DISTINGUISHED AWARD FOR LABORATORY MEDICINE AND PATIENT CARE - Sponsored by Sekisui Diagnostics

This award honours an individual who has made unique contributions in Laboratory Medicine, its application in improving patient care, and having a worldwide impact in clinical medicine.

2008 CWK Lam (HK) 2011 RA Wanders (NL) 2014 M. Plebani (IT)

► IFCC-ROBERT SCHAFFER AWARD FOR OUTSTANDING ARCHIEVEMENTS IN THE DEVELOPMENT OF STANDARDS FOR USE IN LABORATORY MEDICINE - sponsored by NIST CLSI

This award honours an individual who has made outstanding and unique contributions to the advancement of reference methods and/or reference materials for laboratory medicine to facilitate improved quality of clinical diagnostics and therapies, which would in turn lead to reduced costs and improved patient care.

2008 L Siekmann (DE)

2011 L. Thienpont (BE)

2014 WG Miller (US)

▶ IFCC DISTINGUISHED AWARD FOR CONTRIBUTIONS TO CARDIOVASCULAR DIAGNOSTICS – sponsored by HyTest

This award honours an individual who has undertaken remarkable scientific work with cardiac markers or immunodiagnostic applications to improve cardiac disease diagnosis. It will be presented for the first time on occasion of the WorldLab Congress to be held in Durban in 2017.

► IFCC YOUNG INVESTIGATOR AWARD – sponsored by IFCC

This award recognizes and encourages the academic and professional development of a young investigator (under 40 years of age) who has demonstrated exceptional scientific achievements in Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine early in his/ her career.

2011 R. Chiu (HK)

2014 R. Baird (US)

AWARDS COMMITTEE 2015-2017

Chair: H. Morris (AU)

Members: M. Jouma (SY); L. Kricka (US); L. Lai (MY); V. Steenkamp (ZA) G. Sypniewska (PL)



Enquiries: Professor Howard MORRIS
Chemical Pathology Directorate
SA Pathology
Box 14 Rundle Mall Post Office
Adelaide SA 5000 - Australia
Tel: +61 8 8222 3031 • Fax: +61 8 822 3035
e-mail: Howard.Morris@health.sa.gov.au



Closing date for nominations "Awards 2017":

31 January 2017